LSFF & i-D

Posted on

Over the past 6 months, LSFF & i-D Magazine have been featuring the winners of the past 9 festivals. Here, LSFF reflects on all 9 as we approach our tenth festival in January.

Over the past 6 months, LSFF and i-D Online have featured the last 9 winning films and filmmakers of the London Short Film Festival, conducting interviews to see how their careers have developed since the festival and to shine a spotlight on the incredible filmmaking talent that the UK has to offer. By showcasing these films, from Jes Benstock’s charming tale of love and life, Orders of Love, to Andy McVicar’s meticulously composed Compulsion,  LSFF hopes to have demonstrated our commitment to championing excellent quality and often off-the-wall, short films.

In just over 2 weeks, the festival will announce the 10th winning filmmaker of the ‘British Council Best UK Short Film’ award but in the meantime, here’s another chance to catch up with our 9 winning filmmakers, courtesy of i-D Online.

2004 Winner - Fury, Nick Jordan 

2005 Winner - Orders of Love, Jes Benstock 

2006 Winner - In Passing, Chris Allen and Rob Rainbow 

2007 Winner - I Want to be a Secretary, Sarah Wood 

2008 Winner - Shell, Scott Graham 

2009 Winner - September, Esther May Campbell 

2010 Winner - You’re the Stranger Here, Tom Geens 

2011 Winner - Paris/Sexy, Ruth Paxton 

2012 Winner - Compulsion, Andrew McVicar 

For further information on i-D Online, visit