British Council Award for Best UK Short Film

Posted on

LSFF & British Council announce the nominees for Best Short Film 2013.

We are pleased to announce the 9 films eligible for the British Council Award for Best UK Short Film, chosen from the 300 titles screening across the Festival:

The Curse (Fyzal Boulifa)

Early Birds (Jeroen Bogaert)

Ekki Mukk (Nicholas Abrahams)

Flight of the Pompadour (Karan Kandhari)

Flytopia (Saul Freed / Karni Arieli)

Keri’s Tapes (Keri Leese / Rory Alexander Stewart)

The Lights and Then The Noise (Mathy & Fran)

Morning (Cathy Brady)

Spaceship (Alex Taylor)

The winning film will receive £1000 and an awards trophy

The judges are as follows, and the award will be announced at our Closing Night at the ICA on Sunday 13 January

Sarah Chorley: Operations Director, Shooting People

Will Massa: Films Dept, British Council

James Mullighan: Ex Creative Director, Shooting People (2006-2011), Director of the Edinburgh International Film Festival (2011), boards of Encounters Short Film & Animation and Sheffield Documentary festivals

Kate Taylor: Exhibition & Distribution, Independent Cinema Office / board member, Flatpack Festival / curator, Project: New Cinephilia / + formerly festival co-director & co-founder, London Short Film Festival

The British Council are also supporting the Festival Opening Night, and a short film festival delegation from across Europe to attend the London Short Film Festival.

Programmers and talent spotters are attending LSFF from Germany (Hamburg, Interfilm, Oberhausen, Kaliber 35 Munich), France (Aubagne, Rencontres Internationales), Italy (Milan), Poland(Krakow), Serbia (Belgrade Doc and Shorts Festival) and the Netherlands (Binger Talent Lab).